Camarosource Forum

 
  • Home
  • Register
  • Advertise
  • Members
  • New Posts
  • Contact Us
  • Store
  • Photo's
  • Reviews
  • Classifieds
  • Camaro Info Database
Welcome to CamaroSource.ca
camarosource
Welcome Guest,

You are currently viewing our forum as a Guest, which gives you limited access to view most posts. JOIN our community, and gain full access to not only the message board, but our other many features of the site such as Classifieds, Camaro Gallery, and our Product Reviews as well as other features that will become active at a later date.

Registering with us FREE, fast and a very simple step, join the Camarosource.ca community today!

Already a member? Login to gain full access Now!

Thanks for stopping by.
 
Username

Password

Log me on automatically

best way to run wires???

Post questions and answers about various interior related topics. Seat problems? Seat Belts, carpeting... Etc

Moderator: Moderators

 
Post
Larrymhemenez
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:58 pm
Minimum of 60 Posts
Minimum of 60 Posts
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39 am
Location: Bay area
Posts: 67
wat is the best way to run wiring from the driver seat to the Battery or engine carpartment for visual upgrade slike neon lighting and other Accesories liek wiring kits for stereos is there a place where i can run it thru the firwall thanks i have a 2001 camaro v6 :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
-Larry Hemenez
2001 Camaro V6 3800
 

 
Post
simpleman
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:55 pm
Minimum of 1000 Posts
Minimum of 1000 Posts
User avatar
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 7:39 am
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 1476
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Online search
If you have room through one of the existing firewall grommets, put it through there. Run the wires to whichever side you want. Behind the kick panel and under the seal panel and come out up through the opening under the seat. If there is no opening under the seat, you can just cut a small slit for the wires to come through.DONE :wink:
Simpleman'Z 28
Moroso CAI,Relocated AIT,TB bypass,Custom pcm tune,OE Zo6 Wheels,Falken FK452 tires, Hooker Competition cat-back exhaust, more mods coming.

Image
 

 
Post
Larrymhemenez
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:55 am
Minimum of 60 Posts
Minimum of 60 Posts
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39 am
Location: Bay area
Posts: 67
yeah i was hoping you knew extacly which gourment i shoudl go thorugh cuz i dont wanan pull my dash yet until i kinda know where :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
-Larry Hemenez
2001 Camaro V6 3800
 

 
Post
simpleman
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:39 am
Minimum of 1000 Posts
Minimum of 1000 Posts
User avatar
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 7:39 am
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 1476
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Online search
On mine, I would come through the one behind the ECM. That is the one closest to the battery. When it comes to electrical wiring, shorter wires give better quality performance.
Simpleman'Z 28
Moroso CAI,Relocated AIT,TB bypass,Custom pcm tune,OE Zo6 Wheels,Falken FK452 tires, Hooker Competition cat-back exhaust, more mods coming.

Image
 

 
Post
Larrymhemenez
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:52 am
Minimum of 60 Posts
Minimum of 60 Posts
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39 am
Location: Bay area
Posts: 67
what about running them to the opposite side of the battery the Thign with the red cap over it the port i think its called??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
-Larry Hemenez
2001 Camaro V6 3800
 

 
Post
simpleman
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 11:49 am
Minimum of 1000 Posts
Minimum of 1000 Posts
User avatar
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 7:39 am
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 1476
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Online search
Larrymhemenez wrote:
what about running them to the opposite side of the battery the Thign with the red cap over it the port i think its called??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


Post a pic. I don't understand what red cap your talking about. Mine don't have one.
Simpleman'Z 28
Moroso CAI,Relocated AIT,TB bypass,Custom pcm tune,OE Zo6 Wheels,Falken FK452 tires, Hooker Competition cat-back exhaust, more mods coming.

Image
 

 
Post
Larrymhemenez
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:58 pm
Minimum of 60 Posts
Minimum of 60 Posts
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39 am
Location: Bay area
Posts: 67
its by the fuse boxes on the driver side Front under the hood
-Larry Hemenez
2001 Camaro V6 3800
 

 
Post
batman
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:44 pm
Minimum of 100 Posts
Minimum of 100 Posts
User avatar
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:02 pm
Location: Oshawa on. Canada
Posts: 102
Thats the positive buss, that is a good place to hook up, you need a 3/8
ring terminal. and dont forget to use a fuse.
behind the pcm there is a spot to go thru the firewall.
Image
-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-z-Z-28
 

 
Post
Larrymhemenez
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:02 pm
Minimum of 60 Posts
Minimum of 60 Posts
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39 am
Location: Bay area
Posts: 67
its called AUX Port and I am running 4 guage wire to it and its 80amp Fuse to it so is it ok if i do that :D :D :D :D
-Larry Hemenez
2001 Camaro V6 3800
 

 
Post
simpleman
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:22 am
Minimum of 1000 Posts
Minimum of 1000 Posts
User avatar
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 7:39 am
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 1476
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Online search
Larrymhemenez wrote:
its called AUX Port and I am running 4 guage wire to it and its 80amp Fuse to it so is it ok if i do that :D :D :D :D


The wiring will be fine. Why such a big fuse? How many and big amps are you planning to install? I have ran 800 watt amps and never needed a fuse larger than 30 amps. Just add up the total amps that your equipment is going to draw from the battery and install a fuse that is a little larger. (EXAMPLE: An amp that will draw 10 amps to run, will need a 12 or 15 amp fuse) If you go with a fuse that is too big, the fuse will not blowout if it is overloaded. The wire will start to heat up and possibly burn. Thats on the extreme side, but possible.
Simpleman'Z 28
Moroso CAI,Relocated AIT,TB bypass,Custom pcm tune,OE Zo6 Wheels,Falken FK452 tires, Hooker Competition cat-back exhaust, more mods coming.

Image
 

 
Post
Larrymhemenez
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:22 am
Minimum of 60 Posts
Minimum of 60 Posts
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39 am
Location: Bay area
Posts: 67
i bought a JL wiring AMp kit for 800watt and that is the fuse it came with so yeah
-Larry Hemenez
2001 Camaro V6 3800
 


 

Return to Interior

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron