Camarosource Forum

 
  • Home
  • Register
  • Advertise
  • Members
  • New Posts
  • Contact Us
  • Store
  • Photo's
  • Reviews
  • Classifieds
  • Camaro Info Database
Welcome to CamaroSource.ca
camarosource
Welcome Guest,

You are currently viewing our forum as a Guest, which gives you limited access to view most posts. JOIN our community, and gain full access to not only the message board, but our other many features of the site such as Classifieds, Camaro Gallery, and our Product Reviews as well as other features that will become active at a later date.

Registering with us FREE, fast and a very simple step, join the Camarosource.ca community today!

Already a member? Login to gain full access Now!

Thanks for stopping by.
 
Username

Password

Log me on automatically

wacky tach?

Post questions and answers about various Electronic problems. What chip should I use? Need assistance in wiring up your alarm system? Assistance with setting up your new auto CD Player or video? Here is where you will find your answer.

Moderator: Moderators

 
Post
C0RM0R
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:21 pm
* $1 - $50 *
* $1 - $50 *
User avatar
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 1756
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Been here for years off and on. Maybe a google search?
Anyone else out there got a tachometer that runs at like 2x or 3x real rpms? I have no idea whats causing it, its not really a problem... just an annoyance because you never know your rpms.
Image
Image
 

Post
clw91rs
Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:43 pm
* Moderator *
* Moderator *
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 9:16 pm
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1974
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Cardomain
Mine is way off too. I have heard it is a problem with alot of the later 3rd gens. I haven't ever come across a fix for it.
Image

1991 Camaro RS 3.1 V-6, Flowmaster exhuast, TPI air intake, Hypertech chip, 180* thermostat, accel super coil, white face glow gauges.
 

Post
C0RM0R
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:55 am
* $1 - $50 *
* $1 - $50 *
User avatar
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 1756
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Been here for years off and on. Maybe a google search?
Yeah, I guess the previous owner of my car did some wiring to the car. I pulled some unatached ground wires out from undernieth and he had some switch wiring that was hidden below the shift plate. Just wasnt sure if his bad wiring caused my tach wires to be reading a different voltage somehow.

Do you know what year they switched from mechanical tach to electronic?
Image
Image
 

Post
clw91rs
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:17 am
* Moderator *
* Moderator *
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 9:16 pm
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1974
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Cardomain
I think they switched around 90 but I am not 100% sure.
Image

1991 Camaro RS 3.1 V-6, Flowmaster exhuast, TPI air intake, Hypertech chip, 180* thermostat, accel super coil, white face glow gauges.
 

Post
camarosource
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:57 pm
** Administrator **
** Administrator **
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 10:36 am
Location: Burnaby, BC. Canada
Posts: 13635
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: I am the Administrator :-)
That's not too uncommon.. When I had my custom chip programmed, a laptop was hooked up which showed all the information live. All my other guages were perfect but turns out due to the speed limited GM used in the car, when I was pushing 7000RPM, it was really only 5000 or so..
1992 Camaro Z28. Blue/silver, Custom Blue/Silver Leather seats, Rebuilt Engine, Cammed, Headers, TT ][ Rims ...
NEW http://WWW.CAMAROSOURCE.CA
Over 3,500 Camaro Trims, 1,600+ Photo Spotter's Guide, 2,500+ Std. & Opt. Accessories, 3,000+ Factory Options, Forums, Decoders, Reviews, Classifieds...
3,500+ Camaro Information Database


Image
 

Post
C0RM0R
Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:48 am
* $1 - $50 *
* $1 - $50 *
User avatar
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 1756
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Been here for years off and on. Maybe a google search?
Did you get yours fixed by any chance CS? When im cruising at highway speeds my tach is topped out past red line and holding itself at the end of the tach itself.
Image
Image
 

Post
camarosource
Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:15 am
** Administrator **
** Administrator **
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 10:36 am
Location: Burnaby, BC. Canada
Posts: 13635
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: I am the Administrator :-)
C0RM0R wrote:
Did you get yours fixed by any chance CS? When im cruising at highway speeds my tach is topped out past red line and holding itself at the end of the tach itself.


Part of the custom chip programming was to remove the limitations so it was removed, yes.
1992 Camaro Z28. Blue/silver, Custom Blue/Silver Leather seats, Rebuilt Engine, Cammed, Headers, TT ][ Rims ...
NEW http://WWW.CAMAROSOURCE.CA
Over 3,500 Camaro Trims, 1,600+ Photo Spotter's Guide, 2,500+ Std. & Opt. Accessories, 3,000+ Factory Options, Forums, Decoders, Reviews, Classifieds...
3,500+ Camaro Information Database


Image
 

Post
C0RM0R
Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:26 am
* $1 - $50 *
* $1 - $50 *
User avatar
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 1756
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Been here for years off and on. Maybe a google search?
So a chip can be programmed to get rid of this bug correct? Im not sure I understand when you say Limitations.
Image
Image
 

Post
camarosource
Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:14 pm
** Administrator **
** Administrator **
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 10:36 am
Location: Burnaby, BC. Canada
Posts: 13635
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: I am the Administrator :-)
C0RM0R wrote:
So a chip can be programmed to get rid of this bug correct? Im not sure I understand when you say Limitations.


Here is a copy/paste of what they have on their site. They are an sponsor on here, banner above.

 
Speed Limiter Tuning - Includes Speedometer Calibration

If you've upgraded to high-performance tires, chances are you're missing out on additional speed.

Many vehicles these days have an electronic speed limiter. Manufacturers typically limit the vehicle's speed to the original tires' speed rating. This is far less than your vehicle's true top speed potential.

In addition, if you've switched to a tire with a different overall diameter, your speedometer will read incorrectly. An update to the engine controller will help develop a trusting relationship between you and your gauges. You may even save a few dollars on speeding tickets!

Now you can reach new speeds at an affordable price.
Speed Limiter Tuning includes:

* Vehicle Speed Limiter Removal
* Speedometer Calibration
1992 Camaro Z28. Blue/silver, Custom Blue/Silver Leather seats, Rebuilt Engine, Cammed, Headers, TT ][ Rims ...
NEW http://WWW.CAMAROSOURCE.CA
Over 3,500 Camaro Trims, 1,600+ Photo Spotter's Guide, 2,500+ Std. & Opt. Accessories, 3,000+ Factory Options, Forums, Decoders, Reviews, Classifieds...
3,500+ Camaro Information Database


Image
 

Post
C0RM0R
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:12 am
* $1 - $50 *
* $1 - $50 *
User avatar
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 1756
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Been here for years off and on. Maybe a google search?
CS that sounds like its if you've changed tire diameter. My tire size is stock and my speedo works fine. :? Its just the tach thats running wacky.
Image
Image
 

Post
abob
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 4:27 am
Minimum of 2000 Posts
Minimum of 2000 Posts
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:33 am
Location: York, PA
Posts: 2716
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Roj told me. He is my hero. One day, im gonna grow up and be just like him, You'll see.
yeah reading that advertisement, it doesnt seem to have anything to do with the tach. All they are doing is recalirating the speedo for bigger tires, and removing the top speed shut down.


Unless they are talking about removing the rev limiter on the car. I can see that maybe messing with a tach.
 

Post
mgray
Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 8:20 pm
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3
My tach shows double too. My car sat for almost 6 years, and I don't remember it doing this before that....but maybe. I also threw in a new MSD GM coil(before she sat), maybe that screwed it.

I would like to know where the tach gets it's info from. I've heard it's the coil, so I might try and switch a stock one in there.

I know my truck takes it from the alternator, but not sure on these cars.

I read an article somewhere that had a fix for most of these tach problems.....something about some diodes in our guage....some really technical crap.....too much for me (and most others). Would be nice if someone could put the answer into simpler terms. I found it over at http://camaroforums.com/ I'm sure it wouldn't take long to find. This seems to be a commin issue.

I hear replacing the whole cluster can fix it....but thats expensive!!!

But yeah, can someone please tell me where our tachs pick up from?

Mine is a '90 IROC with the new style cluster.

Thanks
 

Post
Phil UK
Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:38 pm
User avatar
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:27 am
Location: Darlington, England
Posts: 7
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Google search
Hi CORMOR. Don't know if you've fixed your overeading tacho yet, but I had the same snag on my old 1990 RS 3.1 v6. Even bought an ignition module in an attempt to fix it (it didn't). It appears it's very common on 1990 - '92 Camaros. Looks like it's to do with some circuit board which can be corrected by swapping capacitors on it - all a bit much for my level of expertise. This link explains what you can do if you feel you have the "know how".

http://www.thirdgen.org/techboard/elect ... r-fix.html

Hope it helps.
I've just traded my 90 3rd gen in for a 95 3.4lt v6, after almost 19years together! Still miss her, but love the newer one!
Cheers.
Phil UK
 

Post
C0RM0R
Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:54 pm
* $1 - $50 *
* $1 - $50 *
User avatar
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 1756
Where Did You Hear Of Camarosource.ca?: Been here for years off and on. Maybe a google search?
Thanks Phil. I used to donate my time at an electronics recycling center and the gentleman, Jim, who ran it was an engineer who taught me some soldering among other knowledge for life. I'll give that thread a read through and hopefully put it to use in the spring.

Im sorry for your loss... hopefully your new marriage will be worth its time. :)
Image
Image
 


 

Return to Electrical / Car Audio / Alarms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron